Excellence in Teaching with Technology Awards


The Excellence in Teaching with Technology Awards recognize excellence in the efforts of faculty, staff, teaching assistants and graduate instructors involved in using educational technologies to meaningfully improve teaching and learning at Mizzou.

Congratulations to 2019 award winners!

Graduate/Professional Teaching Award | Ferris Pfeiffer (Biomedical, Biological & Chemical Engineering, College of Engineering)
Undergraduate Teaching Award | Jennifer Bean (Nutrition & Exercise Physiology, College of Human Environmental Sciences)
GI/TA Teaching Award | Rachel Juergensen (Special Education, College of Education)
Staff Award | Greg Rotert (School of Natural Resources, College of Agriculture, Food & Natural Resources)

Award recipients receive a $750 award to be applied toward educational technology teaching-related expenses (equipment, a conference, software, etc.). Awardees are also invited to participate in a campus conference or presentation so that their work may be highlighted and shared with the campus community.


Any faculty member with a primary teaching appointment is eligible, including tenure track, nonregular, and clinical faculty. Support staff involved in supporting technology in teaching, as well as graduate instructors and teaching assistants, are eligible. Please note that Educational Technologies staff are not eligible for this award nomination due to Educational Technologies’ involvement in the award process.


Anyone affiliated with MU is eligible to nominate individuals for this award. Self-nominations are also accepted. Nominations should take the form of a letter that 1) addresses how the individual uses educational technology in a creative and innovative manner, 2) cites specific examples of excellence in which this individual has developed, adapted, adopted or incorporated technology for teaching and learning, and 3) describes why the individual should receive the award. When appropriate, nominations should illustrate how the nominee enables direct student engagement with technology to improve understanding and learning of material.

After all nominations are received, nominees may be invited to compile a portfolio demonstrating meaningful uses of technology in their teaching. Members of Educational Technologies’ faculty selection committee review all nomination materials and select the award recipients.

Nominations will be accepted for the following categories:

  • Undergraduate Teaching (1 award)
  • Graduate & Professional Teaching (1 award)
  • Staff Support (1 award)
  • Graduate Instructor/Teaching Assistant (1 award)

Previous Award Winners

Undergraduate Teaching
  • Peter Lea, School of Music (AY 2018)
  • Heather Hunt, Biological Engineering (AY 2017)
  • Michael Volz, Deptartment of German and Russian Studies (AY 2016)
  • Corey Webel, Department of Learning, Teaching, and Curriculum (AY 2015)
  • Sarah Bush, Division of Biological Sciences, College of Arts & Science (AY 2014)
  • Peter Motavalli, Department of Soil and Environmental Science, College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources (AY 2013)
  • Kerri McBee-Black, Department of Textile and Apparel Management (AY 2012)
  • Bethany Stone, Department of Biological Sciences (AY 2011)
  • Jason Aubrey, Department of Mathematics (AY 2010)
  • Dale Musser, Department of Computer Science (AY 2009-2010)
  • Jim Groves, Department of Hotel and Restaurant Management (AY 2008-2009)
  • Dana Kinnison, Department of English (AY 2007-2008)
  • Jacquelyn Sandone, Department of Romance Languages (AY 2006-2007)
  • Patricia Tew, School of Health Professions (AY 2005-2006)
  • Richard Callahan, Department of Religious Studies (AY 2004-2005)
  • Karla Simmons, College of Human Environmental Sciences (AY 2003-2004)
  • Jana Hawley, College of Human Environmental Sciences (AY 2002-2003)
  • Rainer Glaser, Department of Chemistry (AY 2001-2002)
  • Steve Friesen, Department of Religious Studies (AY 2001-2002)
Graduate & Professional Teaching
  • Dana Martin & Kelly Stephens, Physical Therapy, School of Health Professions (AY 2018)
  • Prasad Calyam, Computer Science (AY 2017)
  • Alexandria Lewis, School of Social Work (AY 2016)
  • Anne Alexander, School of Law (AY 2015)
  • Marilyn James-Kracke, Department of Medical Pharmacology & Physiology, School of Medicine (AY 2014)
  • Newton D’Souza, Department of Architectural Studies, College of Human Environmental Sciences (AY 2013)
  • Jill Ostrow, Department of Learning, Teaching and Curriculum (AY 2012)
  • Bimal Balakrishnan, Department of Architectural Studies (AY 2011)
  • Elizabeth Baker, Department of Learning, Teaching, & Curriculum (AY 2010)
  • Oscar Chavez, Department of Learning, Teaching, & Curriculum (AY 2009)
  • Linda Esser, School of Information Science and Learning Technologies (AY 2009)
  • Jeff Rice, Department of English(AY 2008)
  • Jeff Rouder, Department of Psychological Sciences (AY 2007)
  • Marian Petrides, Department of Pathology and Anatomical Sciences (AY 2006-2007)
  • Vairam Arunachalam, School of Accountancy (AY 2005-2006)
  • William Krause, Department of Pathology (AY 2004- 2005)
  • Dennis O’Brien, College of Veterinary Medicine (AY 2003-2004)
  • Linda Bennett, College of Education (AY 2002-2003)
  • Lila Pennington, Sinclair School of Nursing (AY 2001-2002)
Staff Support
  • Karen Nazario, Trulaske College of Business (AY 2017)
  • Derrick Fogle, Academic Support Center (AY 2016)
  • Jason Hall, Academic Support Center (AY 2015)
  • Sarah Smith-Frigerio, Graduate Program, School of Journalism (AY 2014-2015)
  • Marc Strid, College of Agriculture, Foods and Natural Resources (AY 2010-2011)
  • Keith Politte, Reynolds Journalism Institute (AY 2009-2010)
  • Judy Richey, School of Information Sciences and Learning Technologies (AY 2008-2009)
  • Mark Jarvis, Center for eResearch (AY 2007-2008)
  • Jeremy Bloss, McNair Scholars Program (AY 2006-2007)
  • Sandra Gummersheimer, MU Direct (AY 2005-2006)
  • Alan Marshall, Department of Biological Sciences (AY 2004-2005)
  • Zac March, School of Veterinary Medicine (AY 2003-2004)
  • Brice Jewell, School of Social Work (AY 2002-2003)
  • Anna Ragland, MU Direct (AY 2001-2002)
Graduate Instructor /Teaching Assistant
  • Melissa Tapia, Psychological Sciences, College of Arts and Science (AY 2018)
  • Julie Birt, Learning, Teaching, & Curriculum (AY 2017)
  • Kyle Stiers, Department of Biochemistry (AY 2016)
  • Jessica Kettenbach, Division of Biological Sciences (AY 2015)
  • Jessica Klockow, Department of Chemistry, College of Arts & Science (AY 2014-2015)
  • Tilanka Chandrasekera, Department of Architectural Studies (AY 2012-2013)
  • Emily Friedman, Department of English (AY 2009-2010)
  • Christopher Strelluf, Department of English (AY 2008-2009)
  • Marcia Hansen, Department of English (AY 2007-2008)
  • John Estes, Department of English (AY 2006-2007)
  • Marc Strid, Food and Hospitality Systems (AY 2005-2006)
  • Leigh Dillard, English (AY 2004-2005)